Executive Leadership

Leith Anderson has been president of the National Association of Evangelicals since 2006, and was the senior pastor of Wooddale Church in Eden Prairie, Minnesota, for 35 years. He regularly teaches in seminaries, addresses evangelical concerns with elected officials, and provides theological and cultural commentary to leading news outlets. He has been published in many periodicals and has written over 20 books. Anderson has a Doctor of Ministry degree from Fuller Theological Seminary, and is a graduate of Moody Bible Institute, Bradley University and Denver Seminary.

Galen Carey, NAE vice president of government relations, is responsible for representing the NAE before Congress, the White House and the courts. He works to advance the approach and principles of the NAE document, “For the Health of the Nation.” Before joining the NAE staff, Carey was a longtime employee of World Relief, the relief and development arm of the NAE, serving in Croatia, Mozambique, Kenya, Indonesia and Burundi. He received an M.Div. from Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, and a Doctor of Ministry from McCormick Theological Seminary.

Heather Gonzales, NAE vice president and COO, has served the NAE since 2005, most recently as association director. Previously, she worked for IRI, an international democracy promotion organization; Africa Inland Mission in Namibia; and several congressional offices. She holds degrees in history and business management from Huntington College and a Masters of Liberal Studies from Georgetown University.


Chaplain Steven E. West, executive director of the NAE Chaplains Commission, served as an active duty chaplain in the U.S. Air Force. He served in the Air Force and Army for 41 years, retiring from his distinguished career as senior chaplain for Joint Base Langley/Eustis. He is a graduate of University of Mobile, New Orleans Theological Seminary, Alabama Theological Seminary and the Department of Defense Joint Staff College.


Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Doug Clay
Assemblies of God

David E. Hudson
The Salvation Army

John Jenkins
First Baptist Church of Glenarden

Jo Anne Lyon
The Wesleyan Church

Johnnie Moore
The KAIROS Company

Steve Moore

Shirley Mullen
Houghton College

Carl Nelson
Transform Minnesota

Deborah Smith Pegues
Confronting Issues

Roy Taylor
Presbyterian Church in America

David Wilson
Church of the Nazarene

Board of Directors

Emmanuel Agormeda
Ryan Alexander
Dana Allin
Lon Allison
Leith Anderson
Rollie Anderson
Rob Appel
Scott Arbeiter
Don Argue
Ken Artz
John Ashmen
Randall Bach
Nicole Baker Fulgham
Chris Ball
Jay Barnes
Mark Batterson
Jim Baucom
Doug Beacham
David C. Brown
Glenn Burris
Galen Carey
Randy Carter
Noel Castellanos
Timothy Clark
Doug Clay
Steven Cole
Clint Cook
Gustavo Crocker
Alan Cureton
Dharius Daniels
Charlie Dates
Blaine Donaldson
Steve Douglass
Donald Duff
Brian Eckhardt
Ted Esler
Wayne Evans
Doug Fagerstrom
Margaret Feinberg
Todd Fetters
Art Gay
Heather Gonzales
Larry Graber
Nick Hall
Dan Hamil
Ron Hamilton
Chad Hayward
Randy Heckert
Tami Heim
Daniel Henderson
Michael Henderson
Mitchell Hescox
Bruce Hill
Timothy Hill
Dennis Hollinger
Shirley Hoogstra
John Hopler
David E. Hudson
Allen Hughes
John K. Jenkins
Jeffrey Jeremiah
Steve Jones
Walter Kim
Kevin Kompelien
Patrick Kraft
Steve Lawson
Jo Anne Lyon
Frank Masserano
Kevin McBride
Johnnie Moore
Mark Moore
Steve Moore
Don Morris
Shirley Mullen
Kermit Nash
Rich Nathan
Carl Nelson
William Nolte
Doug Nuenke
Daryl Nuss
Terry Palmberg
Phu Pham
Scott Ridout
Larry Roberts
Alan Robinson
Rocky Rocholl
Samuel Rodriguez, Jr.
Philip Ryken
Gabriel Salguero
Alvin Sanders
Wayne Schmidt
Eric Skytte
Deborah Smith Pegues
Dorothy Smith
Harold Smith
George Soltero
Rich Stearns
Ed Stetzer
Phil Strout
John Stumbo
Greg Surratt
Don Sweeting
Roy Taylor
Joseph Tkach
Jim Tolle
Shannon Truelove
Walker Tzeng
John Upton
Colin Watson
Roger Weaks
Steve West
Craig Williford
David P. Wilson
William Wilson
George Wood